#newyearnewme

According to the calendar, it is officially a new year.

It will take a while for most of us to transition from jotting down “2013” to “2014” on all our papers (let’s be honest – I’m not going to get it down until next December). But it certainly won’t take long for those resolutions to get buried in the midst of our busy, hurried lives – shoved to the back of the closet only to gather dust until we desperately dig them out next December for another New Year’s go.

However, as I mentioned in my previous post, I think the spirit of the New Year is something we must learn to capture day-to-day as we strive to be better human beings and live more purposeful lives. New Year’s Eve, Day, resolutions, and everything in between give us a chance to reflect and prepare for the year to come.

I also mentioned before that 2014 holds some pretty exciting stuff for me, so I figured it was time to share a bit more about what they year holds, what I hope to get from it, and what I expect to give.

Last Tuesday, my dad and I began the 6(ish) hour drive from Phoenix to Azusa, bumping to Ellie Goulding, talking about life, and laughing at jokes only the two of us would find funny.

I wasn’t sure what to expect on the other side of our mini-trek and tearful goodbye, but I can tell you that this last week has exceeded any expectations that I could have possibly had.

In previous posts I’ve talked about what a roller coaster this semester has been for me. It was a season full of extreme highs and extreme lows. A time where I truly lost myself; and let me tell you, I don’t want to find that person again. But despite the destruction of an old, clogged engine, my frame remains. Just like a gutted car, I sit awaiting a new engine. I’m still the same Jacova, but my inner workings are being remade, rediscovered, renewed.

In the wake of such a strange season, I feel vulnerable, sometimes weak and unsure. Especially with study abroad and a new leadership position looming in the very near future.

But, I have a very big God.

The past few days I have had the privilege to spend ample amounts of time with the eleven other dear souls who I will be serving with over the new year as Alpha Coordinators at APU. I can honestly say that I have never felt so connected to other human beings in such a short amount of time. Literally in the course of 6 days we went from being acquaintances, some of us even strangers, to a sort of eclectic family that has an extreme obsession with volleyball, a ridiculous addiction to a little game called “four on a couch”, and an affinity for loud and frequent laughter.

In the midst of this laughter have been so many discussions about the kind of leaders we want to become and giddy speculations about who we will have the honor of leading through the fall semester. The more time I spend with these incredible people, the more excited I become to glean from their wisdom and lean into their support.

AND I get butterfly’s in my stomach when I think about the ways we will pour into the lives of 130(ish) students and stumble forward with them in the pursuit of Christ and the practice of servant leadership.

For the first time in a long time, hope is standing before me, staring back into my eyes as I dream of what kind of mountains our great God will move in each of us and in those we serve.

OH, and in a little over 24 hours I will board a plane for South Africa to have my concept of the world and people and God and myself blown out of the water. Honestly, as excited as I am, the thought overwhelms me and I immediately begin to feel inadequate for the calling God has put on my life.

But He has always provided. He has always given me exactly what I needed in the moment that I needed it.

So for today, I will remain fully present. So content to call Azusa a second home. So grateful to be surrounded by dear old friends and sweet new friends who I can’t imagine the next few months without. So in awe of the God who has made all of this possible and continues to bless me despite my wayward heart.

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.

The next time I post on this blog, my words will be passing through a Wi-Fi connection in Pietermaritzburg, South Africa.

And every time I post after that, you’ll be hearing from a new Jacova – remade and restored into something even better than before.

I KNOW that this is where I am being called, but that doesn’t make the transition any easier.

Below are just a few of the people that it’s hardest to leave behind. See you on the flip side, homies.

IMG_9211
my oldest friends
my newest friends
my newest friends
my silliest friends
my silliest friends
IMG_3780
my best friends

About the post

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

